
AUGUST 2019 - Rules Quiz - Turtle Hill Golf Club 

 

1. The Committee selects the location, width, and depth of the teeing area. (Ref# 108)  

True  

False  

2. Which is correct for a ball crossing an edge of a penalty area filled with water? (Ref# 153)  

A ball that last crossed the edge of a penalty area is considered in the penalty area even if the flow of water 

carried the ball out of bounds.  

A ball that last crossed the boundary edge of the course is considered out of bounds even if the flow of water 

carried the ball into a penalty area all of which is in bounds.  

A player's penalty area relief options are determined by the colour of the penalty area edge that the ball last 

crossed, not the colour of the penalty area that the ball comes to rest in.  

3. In Four-Ball play, with side A-B, A accidentally stops B's ball in motion after a stroke in the general area that 

prevents the ball from going out of bounds. What is the ruling? (Ref# 142)  

There is no penalty to anyone and B's ball is played as it lies.  

A gets the general penalty.  

The side gets the general penalty.  

4. In Foursome play, the player's ball must be dropped only by the player who is to make the next stroke; no one 

else, including a partner, may do so even if authorized. (Ref# 100)  

True  

False  

5. In stroke play, a player's caddie practises on the competition course before play on the day that competition is 

scheduled to begin. What is the ruling? (Ref# 225)  

There is no penalty.  

The player gets the general penalty.  

The player is disqualified.  

6. In stroke play,before taking his or her stance, a player removes a stake defining out of bounds that interferes 

with his or her line of play. The player replaces the stake before his or her stroke. What is the ruling? (Ref# 175)  

There is no penalty.  

There is a one-stroke penalty.  

The player gets the general penalty.  

7. In stroke play, a player has committed a serious breach when he or she has gained a significant advantage by 

playing from a wrong place, taking account of factors such as: (Ref# 176)  

(i) the difficulty of the stroke, (ii) the distance of the ball from the hole, (iii) the presence of obstacles on the 

line of play and (iv) the conditions affecting the stroke.  



all the factors listed in A above except the difficulty of the stroke.  

all the factors listed in A above except conditions affecting the stroke.  

8. In stroke play, during the round of eighteen holes, a player employs a young girl as a caddie for the first nine 

holes. For the second nine holes, he or she replaces the young girl with a friend, who just competed in the same 

event. What is the ruling? (Ref# 140)  

There is no penalty.  

The player gets the general penalty.  

He or she is disqualified.  

9. In stroke play, during play of a hole, A asks B, a player that is not his or her partner, how to play a difficult 

chip shot and B responds. What is the ruling? (Ref# 155)  

There is no penalty.  

A gets the general penalty.  

Each of the players gets the general penalty.  

10. In stroke play, A concedes a short putt to B on the 7th hole. B picks up his or her ball and tees off on the 8th 

hole before holing out on the 7th hole. What is the ruling? (Ref# 199)  

There is no penalty to either player.  

A gets the general penalty; B is disqualified.  

A gets no penalty; B is disqualified. 

 


